PLAYLIST: FEELING YOURSELF ON THE WAY TO WORK

finalmixtape

BUMBLE BEA

Song: I’m Coming Out

Artist: Diana Ross

Being the keen Oprah fan that I am, I generally have a liking for anything Oprah-esque including the use of positive affirmations to shape your mindset/outlook and the resultant beneficial effect it can have your actions and achieving your goals. This song is full of positive affirmations that sit on a infectiously uplifting instrumental.

Listen:

 

Song:Runaway

Artist: Wyclef Jean ft Earth Wind and Fire

Again the instrumental on this song is straight sex – I love that it is a live band – and I can’t help but move to the instrumental. And vocals are so sleek and smooth – for the 5 mins it runs for I am the spicy “hip” “together” confident chick (think Eva Mendes character in Hitch) I look upto.

Listen:

 

Song: Smoke Again

Artist: Chance the Rapper ft Ab Soul

The instrumental reminds me of a modernised funked-out version of marching band – and arouses the feelings of excitement and elation you typically associate with a marching band. Chance’s delivery and ad-libs are in line with the instrumental, and he drops his bars in the energized fashion of someone truly gassed.

Listen:

EDI

Song: Sissy That Walk

Artist: RuPaul

I don’t know if anyone here watched “Rupaul’s Drag Race” (if not, begin immediately), but it’s actually the best show I’ve ever seen.

Basically, drag queens compete in a Next Top Model style comp, but it’s 1000% more inspiring and hilarious. The music is also surprisingly awesome, and this song gets me pumped. No idea why. Hope you agree.

Listen:

SOPHIE

Song: Everywhere

Artist: Fleetwood Mac

This song just makes me happy. It makes me feel like I’m in a different world for its duration, a simpler world of no stress, no eczema and no worries.

Listen:

PRI 

Song: I’m Real

Artist: Jennifer Lopez

This song is peak JLo. It feels like summer and it gives me intense flashbacks of feeling hella cool even though I probably owned three different velour tracksuits back then.

Listen:

 

Song: Bag Lady

Artist: Erykah Badu

Because ALL YOU MUST HOLD ON TO IS YOU. IS YOU. IS YOUUUUU.

Listen:

 

Song: Treat me like Fire

Artist: Lion Babe

I’m still not entirely sure what treating me like fire entails but I dare you to walk around with this song turned up full volume in your headphones and NOT feel superfly.

Listen:

BETHAN

Song: Luck of Lucien

Artist: A Tribe Called Quest

A song that has the power to transport me out of any sweaty tube carriage and back to summer holidays as a tweenager. More than 10 years after first falling in love with this song, I can still recite all the lyrics and mumble along which is always a guaranteed way to clear a bit of space around you on a rammed train!

Listen: 

EVE

Song: Got To Be Real

Artist: Cheryl Lynn

First heard on a Sex and the City episode, this song taught me that even if I fall down on the catwalk of a fashion show (a la Carrie Bradshaw), I should hold my head up high and keep on walking. Given the fact I’m more likely to be sweating my way to work here on the Carribean coast than strutting my stuff on a catwalk in New York, I’ve taken the message in another way. 

In other words – strut it, and strut it good! No matter where you are, when this song comes you can’t help but wiggle your bum. So bang it on, and shimmy that shit.

Listen:

Leave a Reply

